March is a journal of art & strategy.


MARCH embraces publishing as an act of protest to address the critical social and political issues of our time. MARCH emerges at a moment of deepening institutional crisis and is intent on advancing new forms of publication, critique, and public action. We are a partisan publication: we initiate, articulate, advance, and defend prefigurative ideas about what art is, could and should be. We believe in the latent potential critique carries to transform our art worlds, our institutions, our means of expression and experimentation, and ourselves. We are con-temporary, with and in our time—an archive of the present and proposition towards the future—where our ideas, actions and form embodies this insurrection.

MARCH features print editions alongside an active online platform commissioning essays, interviews, and experimental critical writing with a global perspective. MARCH is a journal of art & strategy founded by Sarrita Hunn and James McAnally as an expansion of their previous publication, Temporary Art Review, and is published by The Luminary in St. Louis, MO, USA.


Founders & Editors

Sarrita Hunn
James McAnally

Advisory Board

Taylor Renee Aldridge
Chloë Bass
Viviana Checchia
Binna Choi
Rhea Dall
Anne Ellegood
Mela Dávila Freire
Gelare Khoshgozaran
Prem Krishnamurthy
Jessica Lynne
Warren Neidich
Dushko Petrovich
Eriola Pira
Anna Santomauro
Paul Schmelzer
Stephanie Smith
Jonas Staal
Cara Starke
Dmitry Vilensky

Editorial Research Group

Nihaal Faizal
Ina Hagen
Renan Laru-an
Serubiri Moses
Anthony Romero
Sumugan Sivanesan
Tereza Stejskalová
Andrea Steves


MARCH’s site and identity is designed by Haynes Riley.

MARCH’s website is developed by Spellerberg Associates.

MARCH features the typeface Rando designed by Maurice Göldner for Camelot.


Andrea Steves
Zach Whitworth, assistant

Partners: Reliable Copy


Funding and project support for MARCH has come from the Crawford Taylor Foundation, VIA Art Fund and Wagner Foundation, Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW), The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, Nordic Culture Fund, and our members.


Taylor Renee Aldridge
Kenneth Bailey
Aaron Bergman
Caitlin Berrigan
Imani Jacqueline Brown
Paloma Checa-Gismero
Tom Clark
Nihaal Faizal
Susannah Haslam
Jess Henderson
Elaine W. Ho 
Umi Hsu
Theodore (ted) Kerr
Nora Khan
Gelare Khoshgozaran
Lori Lobenstine
James McAnally 
Warren Neidich
Parsa Sanjana Sajid
Alejandra Salinas
Zoé Samudzi
Patrick Scorese
Sumugan Sivanesan
Andrea Steves
Valentina Vella
Anuradha Vikram